Gideon Conn, my favourite troubadour, made my week when he sent me his new album Take It All in the post. I was excited to hear where Gideon would take his music after the gem of  his debut New Bop Sounds in 2010.

The first single off the album is Fall Under Tokyo. A futuristic tune of layered synths mixed with Gideon’s crooning is a fun start for the album. I Need You in My Life is already a favourite of mine with Gideon at his best-  a sweet song with his characteristic  folk hop or rapping and singing.

Colours should be the next single off this great album. Fellow Mancunian artist Josephine lends her divine voice to this beautiful track and is sure to be one I repeat often. They need to do more songs together, the contrast of Josephine’s deep sweeping vocals and Gideon’s melodic guitar is just great to listen to. Rounding off the album, the title track Take It All is a triumphant anthem that secures Gideon as one of the best Manchester has to offer.

Get your mittens on Gideon’s Take It All by heading over to Itunes. See the troubadour live on 20 June at the Bedroom Bar in Shoreditch. Remember when I had the pleasure of interviewing Gideon after the release of his first album? Here it is if you’d like a refresher. 

