Yelawolf’s Trunk Muzik is one of those rare cds you play from start to finish. And it’s only a mixtape.

Hailing from deep South Alabama, Yelawolf has that dirty sound that you may know, but he puts his own twist on it. Growing up around meth labs and slaughters houses without a father in the picture, Yela has some tales to tell. You can hear this in songs like Pop the Trunk.

But he’s not just about red-neck country, Yelawolf has some versatility he only wants to develop. “I can go any direction – arena rap or even the bluegrass hip-hop shit. I would never sign myself down to any style,” Yelawolf said. “I’m always gonna have the darker edgy music – it is always in my pocket because it comes so natural to me. You’ll never stop getting records like “Pop the Trunk” or “Good to Go” – the crunk south stuff. It will always be a part of what I do in some way. But I plan on evolving. You have to. I’m out to make long lasting records.”

Eminem is one of the greats who believed in him enough to sign him to his label Shady Records. Yelawolf’s debut album Radioactive will be released on September 27. It’s going to be sick.

